IODE Jean Throop Book Award

At the recent meeting of the IODE Jean Throop Book Award Selection Committee, five titles were selected for the short list for the 2020 IODE Jean Throop Book Award. There were 75 titles from 17 publishers which were submitted and reviewed; these are books published in 2019 by a Canadian author and/or illustrator living in Ontario. The winning book will be announced in Hamilton on April 23rd, 2020. The publisher, winning author and winning illustrator will be notified in advance and will be invited to attend the Annual Meeting to accept their award; the date and place of which is yet to be determined.

The following books met the criteria for the award.

Alphabetical order by Title:

Aunt Pearl:
Author: Monica Kulling;
Illustrator: Irene Luxbacher
Publisher: Groundwood Books

My Puppy Patch:
Author: Theo Heras;
Illustrator: Alice Carter
Publisher: Pajama Press

Nibi’s Water Song:
Author: Sunshine Tenasco;
Illustrator: Chief Lady Bird
Publisher: North Winds Press/Scholastic

Authors: Sharon Hampson, Lois Lilienstein, Bram Morrison, Randi Hampson
Illustrator:  Qin Leng
Publisher: Tundra Books

You are Never Alone:
Author: Elin Kelsey;
Illustrator: Soyeon Kim
Publisher:  Owlkids Books

Thank you for contributing to IODE Ontario’s mission to encourage excellence in children’s books and to promote literacy in Canada.


Linda Gryner

President, IODE Ontario