Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize

The Sheila A. Egoff Children's Literature Prize is awarded annually as part of the British Columbia Book Prize program to the best children's book published in the previous year written by a writer who has been resident in British Columbia (or the Yukon) for three of the previous five years, published anywhere in the world. Deadline for submissions is December 1st, annually. The prize carries a cash value of $2,000.


Administered By
West Coast Book Prize Society



Contact Us
902 – 207 West Hastings Street Vancouver, BC V6B 1H7 Tel: 604.687.2405 Fax: 604.669.3701


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2014 Ashley Little, The New Normal. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2013.
2013 Caroline Adderson, Middle of Nowhere. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2012.
2012 Moira Young, Blood Red Road. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2011.
2011 Maggie de Vries, Hunger Journeys. Toronto: HarperTrophyCanada, 2010.
2010 Carrie Mac, The Gryphon Project. Toronto: Puffin Canada, 2009.
2009 Polly Horvath, My One Hundred Adventures. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2008.
2008 Polly Horvath, The Corps of the Bare-Boned Plane. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2007.
2007 Sarah Ellis, Odd Man Out. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2006.
2006 Barbara Nickel, Hannah Waters and the Daughter of Johann Sebastian Bach. Toronto: Penguin Group (Canada), 2005.
2005 Susan Juby, Miss Smithers. Toronto: HarperTrophy Canada, 2004.
2004 Dennis Foon, Skud. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2003.
2003 James Heneghan, Flood. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2002.
2002 Polly Horvath, Everything on a Waffle. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2001.
2001 James Heneghan, The Grave. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2000.
2000 Vivien Bowers, Wow Canada! Exploring This Land From Coast to Coast to Coast. Toronto: Owl Books/Greey de Pencier, 1999.
1999 Ron and Sandra Lightburn, Driftwood Cove. Toronto: Doubleday, 1998.
1998 James Heneghan, Wish Me Luck. New York: Frances Foster Books, 1997.
1997 Sarah Ellis, Back of Beyond. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1996.
1996 Nan Gregory, How Smudge Came. Illustrated by Ron Lightburn. Red Deer, AB: Red Deer College Press, 1995.
1995 Lillian Boraks-Nemetz
1994 Julie Lawson, White Jade Tiger. Victoria: Beach Holme Publishers, 1993.
1993 Shirley Stirling, My Name is Seepeetza. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1992.
1992 Alexandra Morton, Siwiti: A Whale's Story. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 1991.
1991 Nancy Hundal, I Heard My Mother Call My Name. Illustrated by Laura Fernandez. Toronto: HarperCollins, 1990.
1990 Paul Yee, Tales From Gold Mountain. Illustrated by Simon Ng. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1989.
1989 Mary-Ellen Lang Collura, Sunny. Toronto: Stoddart Publishing, 1988.
1988 Nicola Morgan, Pride of Lions. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1987.
1987 Sarah Ellis, The Baby Project. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1986.