Golden Eagle Children’s Choice Book Award

The Golden Eagle Book Award is a literary award given annually to an Alberta writer whose juvenile fiction book was selected by children in Grades 4 through 7 from schools in southern Alberta.The competing books are selected by a committee comprised of librarians from both schools and public libraries. The books must be juvenile fiction aimed at Grades 4-7 and must be original work. Students participating in the reading program are entered into a draw to win an evening with his or her family at the Ramada Inn in Lethbridge. The three authors whose books received the most votes are invited to attend the two-day award event. The authors participate in readings in the participating communities over the two-day period. The winner of the award is presented on the evening of the last day at a special event. As the Golden Eagle Award continues, it may expand to include picture books, children’s fiction, YA fiction and adult fiction.


Administered By
The Golden Eagle Children’s Choice Book Award



Contact Us
Kathy Davies
Box 548
Claresholm, AB T0L 0T0
Tel: 403-625-4168
Fax: 403.625.2939


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2011 The Brothers Armfinnigan (Dave Armstrong) , Adventures with Ploox. Indianapolis: Dog Ear Publishing, 2011.
2009 David A. Poulsen, The Prisoners and the Paintings. Toronto: Key Porter Books, 2008.
2008 Nicole Luiken, Frost. Winnipeg: Great Plains Publications, 2007.
2007 Marilyn Halvorson, Blood Brothers. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2004.
2006 Angela Stewart, The Curious Adventures of India Sophia. Illustrated by Mitchell Stuart. Edmonton: River Books, 2005.
2005 Grace Casselman, A Hole in the Hedge. Toronto: Napoleon Publishing, 2003.
2004 Nicole Luiken, Violet Eyes. New York: Pocket Pulse, 2001.
2003 Monica Hughes, Stormwarning. Toronto: HarperCollins Canada, 2001.