Shortlist announced for 2015 Elizabeth-Mrazik Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award

IBBY Canada has announced the shortlist for the 2015 Elizabeth-Mrazik Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award. “This year was a banner year for picture books, and the list suggests the breadth and depth of the stories, themes, and media to be found in the picture books,” says Cleaver Chair Theo Heras.

The winner will be announced at IBBY Canada’s Annual Meeting of Members on Saturday, February 27, 2016. The shortlist is listed below.

Written and illustrated by Jacques Goldstyn
Éditions de la Pastèque

Aux toilettes
Illustrated by Pierre Pratt
Written by André Marois
Éditions Druide

The Good Little Book
Illustrated by Marion Arbona
Written by Kyo Maclear
Tundra Books

Orca Chief
Illustrated by Roy Henry Vickers
Written by Roy Henry Vickers and Robert Budd
Harbour Publishing

Poésies pour la vie
Illustrated by Manon Gauthier
Written by Gilles Tibo
Éditions de l’Isatis

See You Next Year
Illustrated by Todd Stewart
Written by Andrew Larsen
Owlkids Books

Sidewalk Flowers
Illustrated by Sydney Smith
Written by JonArno Lawson
Groundwood Books

Stanley at School
Illustrated by Bill Slavin
Written by Linda Bailey
Kids Can Press

That Squeak
Illustrated by François Thisdale
Written by Carolyn Beck
Fitzhenry & Whiteside

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People , founded in 1953, is an network of organizations in over 70 countries, committed to bringing books and children together. IBBY Canada promotes quality French and English Canadian children’s literature nationally and internationally.