Diamond Willow Award


Administered By:

SYRCA – The Willow Awards Inc.



Award Status:




Contact Info:

SYRCA – The Willow Awards Inc.
807 Nesslin Court
Saskatoon, SK S7J 4V2
Tel: 306-373-0661

The Saskatchewan Young Readers’ Choice Awards – the Willow Awards – are granted annually to the authors of Canadian children’s books voted by students as the best of those nominated in the designated categories. The Diamond Willow Award is granted for books suitable for grades 4-6. In order to be eligible for the award, books must be authored by a Canadian and published in Canada. The winner receives a specially commissioned piece of artwork by a Saskatchewan artist at the annual SaskEnergy Willow Awards Presentation Gala that is held at the end of May or beginning of June.


Yearsort icon Detail Recipient
2014 David Carroll, Ultra. Toronto: Scholastic Canada, 2013
2013 Jonathan Auxier, Peter Nimble and his Fantastic Eyes. Toronto: Puffin Canada, 2011.
2012 Becky Citra, Missing. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2011.
2011 L.M. Falcone, The Midnight Curse. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2010.
2010 Arthur Slade, Jolted: Newton Starker’s Rules for Survival. Toronto: HarperTrophyCanada, 2008.
2009 Gordon Korman, Swindle. New York: Scholastic Press, 2008.
2008 Caroline Adderson, Very Serious Children. Illustrated by Joe Weissmann. Toronto: Scholastic Canada, 2007.
2007 Marty Chan, The Mystery of the Graffiti Ghoul. Saskatoon: Thistledown Press, 2006.
2006 L.M. Falcone, Walking With the Dead. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2005.
2005 Shirley Woods, Amber: The Story of a Red Fox. Illustrated by Celia Godkin. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2004.
2004 Pat Hancock, Haunted Canada: True Ghost Stories. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2003.
2003 Arthur Slade, Return of the Grudstone Ghosts. Regina: Coteau Books, 2002
2002 Roy MacGregor, Power Play in Washington. Toronto: McClelland and Stewart, 2001.