Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature


Administered By:




Award Status:




Contact Info:

Catherine Belshaw
Literary Awards Officer
Tel: 613-232-3569 ext. 233

The Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature is a unique literary award and readership initiative established by CODE with the generous support of philanthropist William Burt and the Literary Prizes Foundation that recognizes excellence in First Nations, Métis and Inuit literature for youth and provide engaging and culturally-relevant books for young people across Canada.

In partnership with the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the National Association of Friendship Centres, the Association of Canadian Publishers, and the Canada Council for the Arts, the Award will be given annually to three English-language literary works for young adults (aged 12 through 18) by First Nations, Métis or Inuit authors or translators (if applicable). The Canada Council for the Arts will be responsible for establishing the selection criteria and administering the jury process. A First Prize of $12,000, a Second Prize of $8,000 and a Third Prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the authors and translators (if applicable) of the winning titles. Winning publishers will participate in a guaranteed book purchase and distribution program in which CODE commits to purchasing a minimum of 2,500 copies of each title at a bulk discount for distribution to schools, libraries, and Friendship Centres that serve First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth across Canada.

Visit CODE‘s website for information on submitting to the award.


Yearsort icon Detail Recipient
2014 First Prize Monique Gray Smith, Tilly: A Story of Hope and Resilience. Winlaw, BC: Sono Nis Press, 2013.
2014 Second Prize Thomas King, The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2013.
2014 Third Prize Bev Sellars, They Called Me Number One: Secrets and Survival at an Indian Residential School. Vancouver: Talonbooks, 2013.
2013 First Prize Richard Wagamese, Indian Horse. Vancouver: Douglas & McInytre, 2012.
2013 Second Prize Tara Lee Morin, As I Remember It. Penticton, BC: Theytus Books, 2012.
2013 Third Prize James Bartleman, As Long as the Rivers Flow. Toronto: Random House of Canada, 2011.