Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature


Additional Details:

Literature in Atlantic Canada

Administered By:

The Nova Scotia Library Association



Award Status:




Contact Info:

Ann Connor Brimer Award
Spring Garden Road Memorial Public Library
5381 Spring Garden Road
Halifax, NS B3J 1E9

The Nova Scotia Library Association presents this award during Canadian Children’s Book Week in November to recognize excellence in writing. The $1000 prize is given to the author of a children’s book which has made an outstanding contribution to children’s literature in Atlantic Canada. The winning author must be alive and residing in Atlantic Canada at time of nomination. Deadline for submissions is November 15th annually and the winner is announced the following May at the Atlantic Book Awards.


Yearsort icon Detail Recipient
2015 Sharon E. McKay, The End of the Line. Toronto: Annick Press, 2014.
2014 Jill MacLean, Nix Minus One. Toronto: Pajama Press, 2013.
2013 Lisa Harrington, Live to Tell. Toronto: Dancing Cat Books, 2012.
2012 Susan White, The Year Mrs. Montague Cried. Charlottetown: Acorn Press, 2011.
2011 Valerie Sherrard, The Glory Wind. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2010.
2010 Jill MacLean, The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2009.
2009 Jill MacLean, The Nine Lives of Travis Keating. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2008.
2008 K.V. Johansen, Nightwalker: The Warlocks of Talverdin. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2007.
2007 Budge Wilson, Friendships. Toronto: Penguin Group (Canada), 2006.
2006 Kevin Major, Aunt Olga’s Christmas Postcards. Illustrated by Bruce Roberts. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2005.
2005 Alice Walsh, Pomiuk, Prince of the North. Illustrated by Jerry Whitehead. Vancouver: Beach Holme Publishing, 2004.
2004 Don Aker, The First Stone. Toronto: HarperTrophy Canada, 2003.
2003 Lesley Choyce, Shoulder the Sky. Toronto: Dundurn Press, 2002.
2002 Frances Wolfe, Where I Live. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2001.
2001 Janet McNaughton, The Secret Under My Skin. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2000.
2000 David Weale, The True Meaning of Crumbfest. Charlottetown: The Acorn Press, 1999.
1999 Janet McNaughton, Make or Break Spring. St. John’s: Tuckamore Books, 1998.
1998 Kevin Major, The House of Wooden Santas. Woodcarvings by Imelda George. Photography by Ned Pratt. Red Deer, AB: Red Deer College Press, 1997.
1997 Janet McNaughton, To Dance at the Palais Royale. St. John’s: Tuckamore Books, 1996.
1996 Don Aker, Of Things Not Seen. Toronto: Stoddart Publishing, 1995.
1995 Sheree Fitch, Mabel Murple. Illustrated by Maryann Kovalski. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 1995.
1994 Lesley Choyce, Good Idea Gone Bad. Halifax: Formac Publishing, 1993.
1993 Budge Wilson, Oliver’s Wars. Toronto: Stoddart Publishing, 1992.
1992 Kevin Major, Eating Between The Lines. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 1991.
1991 Joyce Barkhouse, Pit Pony. Toronto: Gage Educational Publishers, 1990.