Winners of the 2014 Saskatchewan Book Awards Announced!

More than 300 people were on hand at the Conexus Arts Centre on Saturday, April 26 to listen to numerous special guests, fete the 2014 finalists and congratulate the winners. Books by and about Aboriginal people swept the 2014 Saskatchewan Book Awards, with author Lisa Bird-Wilson taking home three awards, and a scholarly work by James Daschuk receiving four awards.

Several hundred people, including government and sponsor representatives, as well as appreciative readers, joined Saskatchewan’s literary luminaries at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina on Saturday, April 26 for the 21st Awards Ceremony, featuring guest speaker Warren Cariou. The winner of the SaskEnergy Children’s Literature Award is Dear Flyary by Dianne Young and John Martz (illus.), published by Kids Can Press.

Established in 1993, the Saskatchewan Book Awards recognizes and celebrates excellence and diversity in Saskatchewan writing and publishing. It is a principal ambassador for the province’s literary community, promoting greater awareness of Saskatchewan books, authors, and publishers through its awards, public reading events, and other promotional initiatives.

For the complete list of winners, visit

For more information, please contact:

Carol Todd
Program Director
Saskatchewan Book Awards
Tel: 306.569.1585