Winners and Finalists for the 2019 BC Book Prizes Announced

The West Coast Book Prize Society is thrilled to announce the winners and finalists for the 2019 BC Book Prizes. Congratulations to the authors, illustrators, and publishers!

Winners were announced on Saturday, May 11, 2019 at Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront.

Sheila A. Egoff Children’s Literature Prize

Supported by the Friends of Sheila Egoff and Teresa James
Judges: Deborah Hodge, Jude Isabella, Marilyn MacPherson

No Fixed Address
by Susin Nielsen
Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers

Felix Knuttson, twelve, is an endearing kid with an incredible brain for trivia. His mom Astrid is loving but unreliable; she can’t hold onto a job, or a home. When they lose their apartment in Vancouver, they move into a camper van. Felix must keep “home” a secretWhen he gets to compete on a national quiz show, Felix is determined to win — the cash prize will bring them a home. But what happens is not at all what Felix expected. 

Susin Nielsen is a Canadian author for children, adolescent and young adults. She received a Governor General’s Award and the 2013 Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children Award for her young adult novel The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen.

Christie Harris Illustrated Children’s Literature Prize

Supported by Vancouver Kidsbooks and Kate Walker
Judges: Christine Chang, Nicole McDonald, Judith Saltman

by Ian Boothby
Illustrated by Nina Matsumoto
Publisher: Scholastic Canada

August is a brilliant inventor who is afraid of the outside. Charlie is a crack pilot who isn’t afraid of anything. Together these pals save lives every day. They also happen to be cats who pilot a powerful, mechanical dog suit!  Always eager to leap into danger, this feline duo have their work cut out for them as they try to thwart Princess, an evil alien bent on enslaving mankind. When Princess enacts a brilliant and dastardly plan to conquer Earth, August and Charlie pull out all the stops to save the day.  

Ian Boothby has written comic books for The Simpsons, Futurama, Mars Attacks, Scooby-Doo, The Powerpuff Girls and The Flash. Ian has also won an Eisner Award for Best Short Story along with the artist Nina Matsumoto. Sparks is his first graphic novel for children.

Nina Matsumoto is a Japanese-Canadian cartoonist, also known as “space coyote”, and most known for creating the comic book series Yōkaiden for Del Rey Manga. She created the webcomic Saturnalia, and has worked as a penciller on Simpsons Comics and The Last Airbender: Prequel: Zuko’s Story graphic novel.

View the complete list here to see the finalists.