Willow Award winners are announced

The winners of the 2010 Willow Awards were announced on April 12, 2011 at the SaskEnergy Willow Awards Gala. The event took place at John Diefenbaker School in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan. The Willow Awards promote reading by granting a Willow Award to the Canadian books voted by students to be the best of those nominated in three categories: Shining Willow (K-3), Diamond Willow (4-6) and Snow Willow (7-9). The winners are listed below.

Shining Willow (Kindergarten – Grade 3)

Scaredy Squirrel at Night
Scaredy Squirrel at Night
Written and illustrated by Mélanie Watt
Published by Kids Can Press

Diamond Willow (Grades 4-6)

Written by Arthur Slade
Published by HarperTrophyCanada

Snow Willow (Grades 7-9)

Word Nerd
Word Nerd
Written by Susin Nielsen
Published by Tundra Books

Please click here to view the 2011 nominees.

– 30 –

For more information please contact willowawards@willowawards.ca