Suri Rosen’s Playing with Matches wins 2015 Canadian Jewish Literary Awards

The winners of the 2015 Canadian Jewish Literary Awards were recently announced. The award was founded by a group of prominent writers, editors and scholars to celebrate the vibrancy of Jewish literature and culture in Canada. The awards are hosted and sponsored by the Israel and Golda Koschitzky Centre for Jewish Studies at York University, with the co-sponsorship of a consortium of other programs, including Western University’s Holocaust Literature Research Institute, the Concordia University Chair in Canadian Jewish Studies, the Vered Jewish Canadian Studies Program at the University of Ottawa, the journal Parchment in the Faculty of Arts at Ryerson University, McGill Department of Jewish Studies, and the Tanenbaum Centre for Jewish Studies at the University of Toronto.

Winners were declared in nine separate categories, including memoir/biography, novel, short fiction, history, scholarship, Holocaust, Yiddish, poetry and children and youth fiction. This year, some 60 titles by Canadian writers on Jewish themes were submitted for the annual awards. Author Suri Rosen is the recipient of the children and youth category for her novel Playing with Matches (ECW Press). For a list of all winners please visit

A gala awards ceremony will be held on October 18 at 2:00 pm at York University in the Tribute Communities Recital Hall, Room 120, Accolade East Building, 4700 Keele St. All are invited and admission is free. Please register in advance at

The Canadian Jewish Literary Awards would like to express its gratitude for the support of The Gerald Sheff and Sanitha Kachan Charitable Foundation, the lead benefactor for the Canadian Jewish Literary Awards, and to our major donors, The Gerald Schwartz and Heather Reisman Foundation, The Linda Frum and Howard Sokolowski Charitable Foundation and The Asper Foundation. We thank all the members of the community who have contributed to the sustenance of Jewish literature and thought in Canada.

For more information, please contact:

Edward Trapunski
Chair, Canadian Jewish Literary Awards Jury