Shortlists for the 2013 Arthur Ellis Award announced!

The Crime Writers of Canada have announced the shortlists for the 2013 Arthur Ellis Awards. The awards, established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada’s official hangman, are for crime writing, and they are not restricted to mystery writing. Crime-writing encompasses far more than the traditional whodunit. The crime genre includes crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller writing, as well as fictional or factual accounts of criminal doings and crime-themed literary works. The finalists for Best Juvenile/YA Crime Book are listed below.

Becoming Holmes
Written by Shane Peacock
Tundra Books

Crush. Candy. Corpse.
Written by Sylvia McNicoll
James Lorimer & Company

Live to Tell
Written by Lisa Harrington
Dancing Cat Books

The Lynching of Louie Sam
Written by Elizabeth Stewart
Annick Press

The Traitor in the Tunnel
Written by Y.S. Lee
Candlewick Press

Arthur Ellis 2013

Prizes will be handed out at an awards gala in Toronto on May 30.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact the Crime Writers of Canada at