Shortlist announced for the 2014 Arthur Ellis Award

The Crime Writers of Canada have announced the shortlists for the 2014 Arthur Ellis Awards. The awards, established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada’s official hangman, are for crime writing, and they are not restricted to mystery writing. Crime-writing encompasses far more than the traditional whodunit. The crime genre includes crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller writing, as well as fictional or factual accounts of criminal doings and crime-themed literary works. The finalists for Best Juvenile/YA Crime Book are listed below.

Written by Gail Gallant
Doubleday Canada

Bones Never Lie: How Forensics Helps Solve History’s Mysteries
Written by Elizabeth MacLeod
Annick Press

Written by Karen Autio
Sono Nis Press

Who I’m Not
Written by Ted Staunton
Orca Book Publishers

2014 Arthur Ellis Shortlist

Prizes will be handed out at an awards gala in Toronto on June 5. The complete list of finalists can be found on the Crime Writers of Canada website.

– 30 –

For more information, please contact the Crime Writers of Canada at