Shortlist announced for the 2010 Newfoundland & Labrador Book Awards

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (April 16, 2010, St. John’s, NL) – Finalists for the 2010 Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards comprise a talented roster of emerging and established authors. Presented by the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Literary Arts Foundation of Newfoundland and Labrador, this year the awards are honouring excellence in the categories of Children’s/Young Adult Literature and of Fiction.

The finalists for Children’s/Young Adult Literature are:

Moocher in the Lun
Written by Tom Dawe
Illustrated by C. Anne MacLeod
Published by Flanker Press

From auntsary to zosweet, a new Newfoundland alphabet in verse and image that’s also a delightful excursion around the province.

The Queen of Paradise’s Garden
Written by Andy Jones
Illustrated by Darka Erdelji
Published by Running the Goat Books and Broadsides

An adaptation of a traditional Newfoundland “Jack” tale told with Andy Jones’s unique warmth and humour.

Bella’s Tree
Written by Janet Russell
Illustrated by Jirina Marton
Published by Groundwood Books

A lovely story about learning how to find the “right” Christmas tree, and of the close bond between a young girl and her grandmother.

Included in the fiction nominations this year is Jessica Grant’s Come, Thou Tortoise (Knopf Canada) – An offbeat story
featuring an opinionated tortoise and an IQ-challenged narrator who find themselves in the middle of a life-changing mystery.

The winners will be announced on the afternoon of Friday, May 14, 2010, during an awards ceremony at Government House. Prior to the awards ceremony, public readings by the shortlisted authors will be given at times and locations to be announced.

The Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards are presented under the distinguished patronage of the Honourable John C. Crosbie, PC, OC, ONL, QC, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador. This is the 14th consecutive year for the awards, which consider books released in the two previous years. In alternate years, works of non-fiction and poetry are recognized. The winner in each category receives a cash prize of $1,500, and runners-up each receive $500. All finalists and winners are selected by an independent panel of judges.

For more information, please contact:

Théa Morash, Executive Director
Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador
202-223 Duckworth Street, St. John’s, NL
Tel: 709-739-5215

Established in 1987 to contribute to a supportive environment for writing in the province, the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador offers workshops, programs, and information to both professional and aspiring writers.