Shortlist for the 2011 Saskatchewan Book Awards Announced

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Regina and Saskatoon (February 16, 2012) – This year the First Nations and Métis authors have a significant presence in the 2011 Saskatchewan Book Award (SBA) shortlist. This year’s Awards shortlist recognizes the excellence of the premiere Saskatchewan authors but more specifically the indigenous writers are being recognized in almost every category. This year’s nominees include past winning authors like Judith Silverthorne and Arthur Slade. The First Nations and Métis authors being honoured include Leah M. Dorian. Jurors deliberated over 233 entries to select 61 finalists in 13 award categories. SBA’s thirteen Awards celebrate excellence in books from a wide range of genres and diverse cultural heritages, including poetry, scholarly works, fiction, non-fiction, publishing in education, children’s literature, and First Nations books. The shortlist for the children’s literature award is listed below, along with a few notable children’s authors whose books were nominated in other categories.

Children’s Literature Award

Sponsored by SaskEnergy

Full Steam to Canada: A Barr Colony Adventure
Written by Anne Patton | Coteau Books

Racing Home
Written by Adele Dueck | Coteau Books

First Days: Night Movies
Written by Alison Uitti | Hear My Heart Book Inc.

Picturing Alyssa
Written by Alison Lohans | Dundurn Press

Relatives with Roots: A Story About Métis Women’s Connection to the Land
Written by Leah M. Dorion | Translated by Rite Flamand | Gabriel Dumont Institute

The Secret of the Stone Circle
Written by Judith Silverthorne | Coteau Books

In addition to the being shortlisted in the children’s literature category, Alison Lohans’s Picturing Aylssa was also shortlisted for the Regina Book Award. Similarly, Leah M. Dorion’s Relatives with Roots was shortlisted for the First Peoples’ Writing Award and for the Book of the Year Award in memory of Mary Sutherland. Beverley Brenna (Waiting for No One, Red Deer Press) and Arthur Slade (Empire of Ruins: The Hunchback Assignments III, HarperCollins Publishers) were also nominated in the Saskatoon Book Award and Fiction categories, respectively.

Shortlist nominees will perform readings in March and April in various locations around the province including Regina, Saskatoon, Moose Jaw and Prince Albert. Award winners will be announced on Saturday, April 28, 2012 at the Saskatchewan Book Awards Gala at the Conexus Arts Centre. This celebration’s guest speaker is Mark Abley, the literary executor of the Saskatoon poet Anne Szumigalski, and who has edited three posthumous books by Anne. For tickets, go to

“This year’s book award selections add up to a sumptuous feast for readers and literary lovers! They always reward enduring literary quality,” says Stacy Riggs, Director of the Saskatchewan Book Awards.

For a complete list of all the nominees, visit


For more information, please contact:

Stacy Riggs | T: 306-569-1585 |