Shortlist Announced for the IODE Ontario Jean Throop Book Award

The IODE Ontario Jean Throop Book Award Selection Committee announced the 2019 short list for the IODE Ontario Jean Throop Book Award (books published in 2018 by an author/illustrator living in Ontario). Only books written by a Canadian author/illustrator residing in the province of Ontario are considered for the award. The book ought to appeal to children between the ages of 3 and 7. The following books have met the IODE Ontario Jean Throop Book Award criteria.

The winning book will be announced and presented at the 99th IODE Ontario Annual Meeting Saturday April 27th, 2019, Holiday Inn Kingston Waterfront, Kingston.

Alphabetical order by Title:

Dr. Coo and the Pigeon Protest
Author Sarah Hampson
Published by Kidscan Press

Giraffe and Bird Together Again

Author Rebecca Bender
Published by Pajama Press

Grandmother’s Visit
Author Betty Quan
Published by Groundwood

Harry’s Hiccups
Author Jean Little
Published by Orca

I Am Small

Illustrator Qin Leng
Published by Kidscan Press

My Teacher’s Not Here
Author Lana Button
Published by Kidscan Press

Sleep, Sheep

Author Kerry Lyn Sparrow
Published by Kidscan Press

Sun Dog
Author Deborah Kerbel
Published by Pajama Press

The Funeral

Author Matt James
Published by Groundwood

Congratulations to all of the nominees!

Find out more about the Jean Throop Book Award here.