Manitoba Book Awards Shortlists Announced

The Manitoba Writers’ Guild and the Association of Manitoba Book Publishers are pleased to announce the Manitoba Book Awards shortlists. The awards will be presented at the Manitoba Book Awards gala, on Sunday April 17th at the Centre Culturel Franco-Manitobain and hosted by Catherine Hunter. Cocktails are at 7:00 p.m., with the ceremony beginning at 8:00 p.m. The event is free and open to the public. The shortlists and recipients are selected by a variety of juries, comprised of writers, publishers and other book industry personnel from across Canada. The shortlist for the McNally Robinson Book for Young People Award – Older Category is listed below.

Black Bottle Man
Written by Craig Russell
(Great Plains Teen Fiction)

Written by Maureen Fergus
(Kids Can Press)

Queen of Hearts
Written by Martha Brooks
(Groundwood Books)

Winter Shadows
Written by Margaret Buffie
(Tundra Books)

Craig Russell’s Black Bottle Man was also shortlisted for the Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book.

The administrators of the Manitoba Book Awards gratefully acknowledge the support of the following Book Awards partners: Aqua Books, the Canada Council for the Arts, Friesens, the Manitoba Arts Council, Manitoba Culture, Heritage and Tourism, McNally Robinson Booksellers, the Winnipeg Arts Council and The Winnipeg Foundation.

For more information please contact:

Irene Bindi
(204)-944-8013 | |