Longlist for the 2015 Sunburst Award Announced

The Sunburst Award committee has released the jury’s longlist for the 2015 awards. Announcements will be made mid-June for the shortlist and the winners will be announced in the fall. The jurors for the 2015 awards are S.M. Beiko, Gerard Collins, Paula Johanson, Corey Redekop and Sherryl Vint. The winners receive a cash prize of $1,000 as well as a medallion which incorporates the Sunburst logo. The Sunburst Award takes its name from the debut novel of the late Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction. The longlist for the young adult category is listed below.

The Boundless
Written by Kenneth Oppel
HarperCollins Publishers

A Breath of Frost
Written by Alyxandra Harvey
Bloomsbury Press

Child of a Hidden Sea
Written by A.M. Dellamonica
Tor Books

The Door in the Mountain
Written by Caitlin Sweet

Written by Helaine Becker
Dancing Cat Books

Written by Natasha Deen
Great Plains Teen Fiction

The Night Gardener
written by Jonathan Auxier
Puffin Canada

The Paper Sword
Written by Robert Priest

Written by Karina Sumner-Smith

Sea of Shadows
Written by Kelley Armstrong
Doubleday Canada

Seven Wild Sisters
Written by Charles de Lint
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Song of the Sword
Writtenby Ed Willett
Coteau Books

Sophie, In Shadow
Written by Eileen Kernaghan
Thistledown Press

Tin Star
Written by Cecil Castellucci
Roaring Brook Press

The Voices in Between
Written by Charlene Challenger
Tightrope Books

Written by Richard Scrimger
HarperCollins Canada

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is an annual award celebrating the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year.

For additional information about the Sunburst Award, the nominees and jurors, as well as previous awards, eligibility and the selection process, please visit www.sunburstaward.org.

For more information:

Rebecca Simkin, Chair | The Sunburst Award | 2 Farm Greenway | Toronto, Ontario M3A 3M2