IBBY Canada presents Aubry Award to Dave Jenkinson and Charlotte Guerette

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 2009: IBBY Canada, the Canadian National Section of the International Board on Books for Young People, is pleased to announce that Dave Jenkinson and Charlotte Guerette are the recipients of the 2008 Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature. Dave Jenkinson’s award was presented in Winnipeg during the Manitoba Libraries Conference; Charlotte Guerette’s will be presented at a later date.

Until his retirement as a professor in the Faculty of Education at the University of Manitoba, Dave Jenkinson taught courses in children’s literature, with a strong focus on Canadian books. He co-founded the Canadian Images Canadiens conferences and the Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award, was chair of the board of the Canadian Children’s Book Centre, and has served on many award juries and selection committees. Dave has written hundreds of articles, book reviews, and profiles of authors and illustrators, and is editor of CM: Canadian Review of Materials, a highly-regarded online review journal of Canadian children’s and young adult literature.

Charlotte Guerette, professor at Laval University’s Faculty of Education (just retired), trained virtually every children’s librarian in Quebec. She is the author of 20 books on subjects including traditional tales and the use of children’s books in the curriculum, and helped develop a critical reading guide for children’s books in French. Charlotte has been on juries for numerous children’s literature awards, served on many boards, and was a key player in Library and Archives Canada’s international children’s book conference The Fun of Reading. Charlotte recently donated her collection of thousands of children’s books to Laval’s Faculty of Education.

“Dave Jenkinson and Charlotte Guerette are inspiring choices for the Claude Aubry Award,” said Susan Shipton, chair of the award jury. “Both of them have dedicated their careers to Canadian children’s literature as passionate and tireless teachers, mentors, writers, reviewers, and jury members, fostering the promotion of reading for young Canadians in so many ways.”

The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 in honour of the late Claude Aubry of the Ottawa Public Library. The biennial award is presented by IBBY Canada for distinguished service within the field of children’s literature. Previous recipients include Peter Carver, Catherine Mitchell, Bertrand Gauthier, Michael Solomon, Ron Jobe, Virginia Davis, Judy Sarick, May Cutler and Sheila Egoff.

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People (www.ibby.org), founded in Switzerland in 1953, represents an international network of people who are committed to bringing books and children together and who believe in the ability of children’s books to bridge cultures and promote peace. Formed in 1980, IBBY Canada is one of over 70 national sections worldwide. IBBY Canada is a volunteer organization that promotes quality French and English language Canadian children’s literature nationally and internationally. Members include authors, illustrators, librarians, booksellers, educators, and publishers. For more information about IBBY and the Claude Aubry Award, please visit the IBBY Canada web site at www.ibby-canada.org or email info@IBBY-Canada.org.

— 30 —
For more information, please contact:
Helena Aalto, Promotions Officer IBBY Canada
(416) 658-3144 promotions@ibby-canada.org