IBBY Canada presents Aubry Award for distinguished service to children’s literature to Gillian O’Reilly and Daniel Sernine

IBBY Canada, the Canadian national section of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), presents the Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature in English to Gillian O’Reilly (Toronto) and in the field of children’s literature in French to Daniel Sernine (Montreal).

For more than 20 years, Gillian O’Reilly was the editor of Canadian Children’s Book News. Her significant contributions to the publication’s focus and content transformed the Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s newsletter into an important and widely read national magazine. A passionate supporter of Canadian children’s books, Gillian is an active volunteer with many book organizations, and a frequent participant at conferences, festivals, launches, presentations, meetings and other book events. She is the author of two non-fiction books for young readers. From a letter nominating Gillian O’Reilly: “Gillian is a true champion of Canadian children’s literature. Her commitment shines through in all she does.”

As a creator, critic and publisher, Daniel Sernine has worked in the world of literature for young people for most of his life. Since 1991, he has been the editor of the highly-regarded children’s and youth literature magazine Lurelu, which focuses on French-language books published in Canada, and is an essential resource in Quebec and across Canada. Daniel is the author of many novels for teens, and writes for textbooks, comic books, magazines, anthologies and collections. From a letter nominating Daniel Sernine: “As a cultural influence, Daniel is quietly persistent, eternally present as a voice for children’s literature, [and] an active advocate for the art and impact of the genre.”

IBBY Canada presents the Claude Aubry Award biennially to two individuals who have made significant contributions to Canadian children’s literature in English and in French. Previous recipients include Judith Saltman, Jacques Payette, Patsy Aldana, Marie-Louise Gay, Andrea Deakin, Chantal Vaillancourt, Dave Jenkinson, Charlotte Guérette, Peter Carver, Catherine Mitchell, Bertrand Gauthier, Michael Solomon, Ron Jobe, Virginia Davis, Judy Sarick, May Cutler and Sheila Egoff. The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 to honour the late author, translator, and director of the Ottawa Public Library.

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People (www.ibby.org), founded in 1953, represents an international network of people committed to bringing books and children together. IBBY Canada, a volunteer organization formed in 1980 to promote Canadian children’s literature, is one of over 70 IBBY national sections worldwide.  IBBY Canada members include authors, illustrators, librarians, booksellers, educators, and publishers. For more information, please visit www.ibby-canada.org.

For more information, please contact:  promotions@ibby-canada.org