Iain Lawrence wins the Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature

Toronto – November 2, 2011 – Last night in Toronto’s Isabel Bader Theatre, the Writers’ Trust of Canada announced the winners of six literary prizes and presented more than $100,000 to the authors at the 11th annual Writers’ Trust Awards, one of the richest literary prize-giving events in Canada. Iain Lawrence was the recipient of the Vicky Metcalf Award for Children’s Literature. Sponsored by the Metcalf Foundation, the award carries a cash prize of $20,000 and is given to a a writer of children’s literature for a body of work.

In his extensive array of novels for the young, Lawrence ranges from the realms of early nineteenth century seafarers to a remote, twentieth century lighthouse off B.C.’s north coast; from Cold War rural America to a southern English village at the height of World War I. Lawrence builds on the traditions of Treasure Island and other boys’ adventures in many of his stories, but his convincing evocation of period, setting and character make these as much studies of human nature as they are tales of excitement, suspense, fear, and sometimes, sorrow. He is well able to sustain both a rousing pitch of action and complex, reflective male protagonists.

Selected Publications

The Winter Pony (2011)
The Giant-Slayer (2009)
The Seance (2008)
The Castaways (2007)
Gemini Summer (2006)
The Cannibals (2005)
B for Buster (2004)
The Convicts (2004)
The Lightkeeper’s Daughter (2002)
The Buccaneers (2001)
Lord of the Nutcracker Men (2001)
Ghost Boy (2000)
The Smugglers (1999)
The Wreckers (1998)

About the Author
Iain Lawrence was born in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, and grew up in Toronto, Calgary, and on the West Coast. He studied journalism in Vancouver and worked for 10 years at the Prince Rupert Daily News in northern B.C., eventually becoming editor. He has worked at many odd jobs, including fish farm worker and travel writer. Lawrence is the author of many acclaimed novels, including Ghost Boy, Lord of the Nutcracker Men, and the High Seas Trilogy of The Wreckers, The Smugglers, and The Buccaneers. In 2007 he received the Governor General’s Literary Award for Children’s Literature – English-language Text for Gemini Summer. Lawrence now lives on Gabriola Island, British Columbia. His latest book, The Winter Pony, was published in November 2011.

About the Sponsor
The goal of the Metcalf Foundation is to enhance the effectiveness of people and organizations working together to help Canadians imagine and build a just, healthy and creative society. Vicky Metcalf created this award in 1963 to stimulate the writing of literature for Canadian children. She held a passion for storytelling and published several children’s books. The prize has been administered by the Writers’ Trust since 2002.

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada
The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that supports Canadian writers and writing through various programs, including literary awards, financial grants, workshops, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

For more information, please contact:

Becky Toyne
Tel: 416-871-0502