Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Awards Ceremony to be Live-streamed May 10

The annual Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Awards ceremony, celebrating the Canadian books that have been read and enjoyed by Atlantic Canadian readers in grades 4 to 6, will be live-streamed for the first time this year, as it unfolds at 10:00 am on Friday, May 10 at Kenneth C. Rowe Heritage Hall at Pier 21 in Halifax. The ceremony is free of charge and open to all young book lovers. For the first time ever, this year young readers who are not able to attend the event in person will nonetheless be able to watch as Hackmatack authors are feted at the ceremony and the winning books are announced. The live-streaming will be accessible through the Hackmatack website.

Each year, Atlantic Canadian students in grades 4 to 6 read from a selection of twenty Canadian books – ten fiction and ten non-fiction in either French or English. Students from a registered Hackmatack group who read at least five books in either or both categories – fiction and non-fiction – are eligible to cast a vote for their favourite book in that category. Every individual vote is counted, and the authors whose books receive the most votes receive the Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Award: one each for English fiction and non-fiction, and one each for French fiction and non-fiction.

The ceremony is always an exciting event, where young book lovers cheer for their favourite authors, many of whom are in attendance. This year, fifteen nominated Hackmatack authors, from across Canada, will be touring to schools and libraries in all four Atlantic provinces the week of May 6-9 and will be attending the ceremony on May 10 from 10:00 am to noon. In alphabetical order, they are:

  • Catherine Austen (26 Tips for Surviving Grade 6)
  • Paul Burns (Emily Finds a Dragon)
  • Maxim Cyr and Karine Gottot (Les Bleues de New York)
  • Mike Deas (Dalen and Gole: Scandal in Port Angus)
  • Corinne De Vailly (Morgan le chevalier sans peur)
  • Don Downer (Selby the Lobster
  • Suzanne Edwards (The Adventures of a Trapper Boy)
  • Cary Fagan (Banjo of Destiny)
  • Arianne Gagnon-Roy (Le myst re de Blandy-les-Tours
  • Susan Hughes (Off to Class: Incredible and Unusual Schools Around the World)
  • Tina Landry (Mystère au Mont Bleu)
  • Peter McMahon (Space Tourism)
  • Philip Roy (Ghosts of the Pacific)
  • Frieda Wishinsky (Explorers Who Made It? Or Died Trying)

Four hundred students are expected to attend the fourteenth annual Hackmatack Children’s Choice Book Awards ceremony on May 10; thousands more have participated in the reading program that runs from the beginning of the school year to April 1. The lists of books for the 2013-2014 school year are available now on the Hackmatack website.

The Hackmatack program is supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Province of Nova Scotia (Department of Education), the New Brunswick Public Library Service, the Association of Professional Librarians of New Brunswick, the Atlantic Provinces Library Association, Nova Scotia Public Libraries, Newfoundland and Labrador Library Association, PEI Public Libraries, and the Writers Federation of Nova Scotia.

For further information, please contact:

Kate Watson | English Coordinator
hackmatack@hackmatack.ca | 902-719-1780


Mireille Mercure | French Coordinator
mireille.mercure@gnb.ca | 506-658-4610