Crime Writers of Canada announces the winners of the 2009 Arthur Ellis Awards

Crime Writers of Canada is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 Arthur Ellis Awards for the best Canadian crime writing published in 2008.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the prestigious awards, named after the nom de travail of Canada’s official hangman. The awards honour excellence in Canadian crime writing in six categories: best novel, best first novel, best non-fiction, best juvenile/YA, best short story, and best crime book in the French language.

The winner in the best juvenile category is Sharon E. McKay of Kilbride, Ontario for her book, War Brothers, published by Penguin Canada.

For more information on the awards, contact Arthur Ellis Chair James Napier