CCBC nominated for the 2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Frankfurt (October 9, 2014) – The list of nominees for the 2015 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) was announced today at the Frankfurt Book Fair by Boel Westin, the incoming chair of the ALMA jury. The list includes 50 first-time nominees among a total of 197 candidates from 61 countries. The Canadian Children’s Book Centre is among the nominees, thanks to a nomination made by IBBY Canada. Two Canadian authors also made the list – Sarah Ellis and Marie-Francine Hébert.

“I am so excited to be taking charge of the jury’s activities. We are all looking forward to learning more about the works and accomplishments of the nominees,” said professor Westin after making the announcement.

The candidates – authors, illustrators, oral storytellers, and individuals and organisations involved in reading promotion work – have been nominated by over 100 organisations worldwide. The nominating bodies, with expertise in children’s and young adult literature, are allowed to nominate candidates from their own country or region and from other countries as well.

Professor Westin commented:

“The list of nominees is a wonderful directory of active authors, storytellers, illustrators and reading promoters of various kinds. I hope the list will be distributed and discussed in every conceivable context with a connection to children’s and young adult literature and storytelling.”

The 2015 laureate will be announced on March 31, 2015 at the Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

For more information about the ALMA, please contact:

Helene Andersson, Communications Officer
Phone: +46 (0)76 540 10 17

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible. The award is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature. The UN convention of rights of the child is the foundation of our work. An expert jury selects the laureate(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.