The Canadian Children’s Book Centre Announces Amy’s Marathon of Books

Toronto – December 4, 2013 – The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is proud and excited to announce a new fundraising initiative called Amy’s Marathon of Books. Starting on January 1, 2014, long-time CCBC volunteer Amy Mathers will endeavor to read one book a day for a year, in an effort to raise a minimum of $100,000 to endow a Canadian teen book award with an annual cash prize of $5,000 to be presented at the yearly Canadian Children’s Literature Awards gala.

Inspired by Terry Fox’s and Rick Hansen’s Canadian journeys, Amy Mathers has decided to honour her passion for reading and Canadian teen literature while working around her physical limitations. Mathers will be reading 365 teen fiction books from every province and territory, and will post a review on her blog for each book she reads. She invites people to share their thoughts on the books she reads too. “The Marathon of Books will open readers up to new perspectives and funding a teen book award will give us a worthy goal to work towards,” says Mathers.

“We were thrilled when Amy came to us with this project,” says Charlotte Teeple, Executive Director of the CCBC. “We don’t currently have an award for teen books, and this is such a wonderful way of filling that gap.”

Book suggestions and donations are currently being accepted through the Marathon website. The reading list will be posted in January 2014, and Mathers invites schools, libraries, and all readers to join her in reading through a 13 Book Challenge. Visit for more information.

The Canadian Children’s Book Centre (CCBC) is a national, not-for-profit organization founded in 1976. We are dedicated to encouraging, promoting and supporting the reading, writing, illustrating and publishing of Canadian books for young readers. Our programs, publications and resources help teachers, librarians, booksellers and parents select the very best for young readers. For more information, please visit

The CCBC administers six major book awards for children’s literature: TD Canadian Children’s Literature Award ($30,000), Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award ($20,000), Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children’s Non-Fiction ($10,000), Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction for Young People ($5,000), John Spray Mystery Award ($5,000) and the Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy ($5,000).

For further information, please contact:

Camilia Kahrizi
Marketing and Website Coordinator
Canadian Children’s Book Centre
416 975-0010 ext. 221