UPDATED: Canadians Honoured at ALA Midwinter Meeting

On Monday, January 28, at its Midwinter Meeting in Seattle, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the 2013 award-winning books, videos, and audiobooks for children and young adults, including the recipients of the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery, and Printz awards. Canadian author/illustrator Jon Klassen took home the prestigious Randolph Caldecott Medal (for the most distinguished American picture book for children) for his book This Is Not My Hat, published by Candlewick Press. Klassen’s Extra Yarn, written by Mac Barnett and published by Balzer & Bray, was also a Caldecott Honour book. Canadian young adult author Beverley Brenna was also honoured at the ceremony. Her latest novel, The White Bicycle, published by Red Deer Press, was among the Honour books for the Michael L. Printz Award. Vancouver-based author Rachel Hartman took home the William C. Morris Award for her debut YA fantasy novel, Seraphina, published by Doubleday Canada.