Canadian Library Association Awards Shortlists

The Canadian Library Association / Association canadienne des bibliothèques has announced the shortlist for its three Canadian children’s book awards — The CLA Book of the Year Award for Children, the Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon Illustrator’s Award and the CLA Young Adult Book Award. All three awards are sponsored by Library Services Centre. The shortlisted titles are listed below.

CLA Book of the Year for Children Award

This respected award honours a book published in Canada in 2014 by a Canadian author that appeals to readers aged 12 and younger.

by Kenneth Oppel
HarperCollins Canada

The Night Gardner
by Jonathan Auxier
Penguin Canada

Walking Home
by Eric Walters
Doubleday Canada

Swallow: A Ghost Story
Written by Charis Cotter
Tundra Books

The End of the Line
Written by Sharon McKay
Annick Press

Lord and Lady Bunny Almost Royalty
Written by Polly Horvath
Groundwood Books

Circus Dogs of Prague
Written by Rachelle Delaney
Penguin Canada

It’s Catching: The
Infectious World of Germs and Microbes

Written by Jennifer Gardey
Owlkids Books

The Elevator Ghost
Written by Glen Huser
Groundwood Books

Rain Shadow
Written by Valerie Sherrard
Fitzhenry & Whiteside

The CLA Book of the Year for Children Award Jury: Rachel Seigel, Sales & Selection Strategist, EduCan Media, Toronto, ON; Jaclyn McLean, Librarian, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK; Marilyn Willis, Retired Library Coordinator, Georgetown, ON; Reta Pyke, Librarian, Port Moody Public Library, Vancouver, BC; Lynn Amann, Children’s Librarian, Rossl and Library.

Media Contact: Rachel Seigel, Chair 2014-2015: rachelnaras(at)

Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon Illustrator’s Award

This award recognizes an illustrator of a noteworthy Canadian book, published in 2014, that appeals to children up to the age of 12 years.

Any Questions?
Written and illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay
Groundwood Books

Bob’s Hungry Ghost
Written and illustrated by Geneviève Côté
Tundra Books

Dolphin SOS
Illustrated by Julie Flett
Written by Roy Miki and Slavia Miki
Tradewind Books

Illustrated by Pierre Pratt
Written by Rémy Simard
Groundwood Books

Illustrated by Steve Adams
Written by David J. Smith
Kids Can Press

Julia, Child
Illustrated by Julie Morstad
Written by Kyo Maclear
Tundra Books

The Most Magnificent Thing
Written and illustrated Ashley Spires
Kids Can Press

Nancy Knows
Written and illustrated by Cybèle Young
Tundra Books

Pirates of the Silver Coast
Written and illustrated by Scott Chantler
Kids Can Press

The Tweedles Go Electric
Illustrated by Marie Lafrance
Written by Monica Kulling
Groundwood Books

The CLA Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon Illustrator’s Award Jury: Stirling Prentice, Systems Librarian, Ottawa Public Library; Diana Gauthier, retired teacher-librarian, Ottawa-Carleton District School Board; Zoe Pappas-Acreman, Children’s Librarian, Ottawa Public Library; Nicolle Plante, Children and Families Librarian, Calgary Public Library; Randi Robin, Children’s Librarian, Burnaby Public Library; Lynne Thorimbert, Service Delivery Manager, Marigold Library System.

Media Contact: Stirling Prentice, Chair 2014-2015 | Tel: 613-580-2424 ext. 19318 | ststirlbot(at)

CLA Young Adult Book Award

This award recognizes an author of an outstanding English-language Canadian work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories or graphic novel), published in 2014 that appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18.

The Art of Getting Stared At
Written by Laura Langston
Penguin Random House

The Death of Us
Written by Alice Kuipers
HarperCollins Canada

The Gospel Truth
Written by Caroline Pignat
Red Deer Press

Moon at Nine
Written by Deborah Ellis
Pajama Press

Rabbit Ears
Written by Maggie de Vries
HarperCollins Canada

This One Summer
Created by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki
Groundwood Books

Written by Lisa Harrington
Dancing Cat Books

Written by Caroline Pignat
Penguin Random House

The Voice Inside My Head
Written by S.J. Laidlaw
Tundra Books

What We Hide
Written by Marthe Jocelyn
Tundra Books

The 2014-2015 CLA Young Adult Book Award Jury: Stephanie Vollick, Youth Services Librarian, Okanagan Regional Library; Carmelita Cechetto-Shea, Facilitator of Library Support, Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board; Ann Foster, Branch Supervisor, Saskatoon Public Library; Allison Hall-Murphy, Teen Librarian, Ottawa Public Library; Elizabeth Coates, Librarian, Teen & New Adult Services, Kingston Frontenac Public Library.

Media Contact: Stephanie Vollick, Chair 2014-2015 | svollick(at)

The winner of the awards, and the Honour Books, will be announced during the week of April 20th. The award will be presented during the CLA National Conference and Trade Show at the Shaw Centre, Ottawa on June 4, 2015 at the Book Awards reception generously sponsored by TD Bank Group and Library Services Centre.

The Canadian Library Association / Association canadienne des bibliothèques is Canada’s largest national and broad-based library association, representing the interests of public, academic, school and special libraries, professional librarians and library workers, and all those concerned about enhancing the quality of life of Canadians through information and literacy.