Canadian Booksellers Association announces the shortlist for the 2010 CBA Libris Awards

April 1, 2010 – Toronto – Canadian Booksellers Association (CBA) is pleased to announce the nominees for CBA Libris Awards 2010. Celebrating the Best in the Business, and voted on by members of the book industry, CBA Libris Award Winners will be announced during CBA’s Libris Awards Ceremony, hosted by CBC Radio’s Shelagh Rogers, on May 29, 2010, at the Delta Toronto Airport West Hotel, during CBA’s National Conference. The shortlist for the Young Readers’ Book of the Year and Children’s Picture Book of the Year are listed below.

Young Readers’ Book of the Year

The Awakening
Written by Kelley Armstrong
(Doubleday Canada)

The Uninvited
Written by Tim Wynne-Jones
(Candlewick Press; distributed by Random House Canada)

Vanishing Girl: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Third Case
Written by Shane Peacock
(Tundra Books)

Children’s Picture Book of the Year

Bradley McGogg, The Very Fine Frog
Written by Tim Beiser
Illustrated by Rachel Berman
(Tundra Books)

Perfect Snow
Written and illustrated by Barbara Reid
(North Winds Press/Scholastic Canada)

When Stella Was Very, Very Small
Written and illustrated by Marie-Louise Gay
(Groundwood Books)

Canadian Booksellers Association (CBA) is a national trade association representing trade and campus booksellers in all provinces and territories. Membership includes Canadian bookstores of all sizes, including independents, chains, specialty stores, campus bookstores as well as more than 200 publishers and distributors. Some 1,000 bookstores are represented by CBA.

For information on CBA Libris Awards please contact:
Emily Sinkins, Communications Manager
416-467-7883, ext. 230, or