2016 Forest of Reading® Program Winners Announced

On May 17, 18 and 19, thousands of kids and teens gathered at the Harbourfront Centre for the Festival of Trees™, an annual rock concert of reading, where the winners of the 2016 Forest of Reading program were announced. Over the past six months, over 250,000 children across Ontario read nominated books, which included the best Canadian fiction and non-fiction books by French and English authors.

The 2016 Forest of Reading Award winners are:

Blue Spruce Award Winner: If Kids Ruled the World by Linda Bailey & David Huyck

Red Maple Award Winner: The Dogs by Allan Stratton

White Pine Award Winner: The Bodies We Wear by Jeyn Roberts

Silver Birch Express Award® Winner: The End of the Line by Sharon E. McKay

Silver Birch Non-Fiction Award®  Winner: Haunted Canada 5: Terrifying True Stories by Joel A. Sutherland

Silver Birch Fiction Award®  Winner: Masterminds by Gordon Korman

Le Prix Peuplier: Ça commence ici! by Caroline Merola

Le Prix Tamarac Winner: Un clic de trop by Rhéa Dufresne

Le Prix Tamarac Express Winner: Les trois grands Cauchon by Sonia Sarfati & Jared Karnas

The Forest of Reading allows readers of all ages to cultivate a love of reading through Canadian picture books, young adult books, novels and French-language titles. The program consists of eight award programs distinguished by age group and reading level: Blue Spruce, Silver Birch, Red Maple, White Pine, Golden Oak and Evergreen. French literature is celebrated through Le Prix Tamarac and Le Prix Peuplier programs. Together, there are 118 nominated titles with approximately ten books for each program.

The program is supported by almost 125 volunteers.

The Ontario Library Association (OLA) is a centre of excellence for the library and information sector, with 5,000 members who work in public, school, academic and special libraries. OLA enables members to advocate for the right of individuals to have free and equitable access to information. Our members research, develop and participate in educational programs designed to provide exemplary library services. Signature OLA events include the annual Super Conference and the Forest of Read­ing® program.

Tinlids is the official wholesaler for the 2016 Forest of Reading program.