2014 Forest of Reading Winners Announced

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: TORONTO (May 16, 2014) – Programme partners the Ontario Library Association (OLA) and IFOA are pleased to announce the winners of the 2014 Forest of Reading® Awards. This year’s Forest of Reading® Festival of Trees™ was held at Harbourfront Centre on May 14 and 15. The highly anticipated two-day festival consisted of award ceremonies, book signings, readings, workshops and other interactive entertainment honouring the shared experience of reading. The OLA and IFOA excitedly welcomed over 8000 young people to the site.

The winners are:

2014 Blue Spruce™ Award Winner

Dave Whamond – Oddrey (Owlkids Books)

Honour Books:
Helene Boudreau and Serge Bloch – I Dare You Not To Yawn by (Candlewick Press)
Jon Klassen – This Is Not My Hat by (Candlewick Press)
Wallace Edwards – Uncle Wally’s Old Brown Shoe (Orca Book Publishers)

2014 Silver Birch® Express Award Winner

Rebecca Upjohn and Renné Benoit – The Secret of the Village Fool (Second Story Press)

Honour Books:
Alan Neal, Neil Christopher and Jonathan Wright – Ava and the Little Folk (Inhabit Media)
Beth Goobie – Jason’s Why (Red Deer Press)
Cary Fagan – Danny, Who Fell In A Hole (Groundwood Books)

2014 Silver Birch® Fiction Award Winner

Robin Stevenson – Record Breaker (Orca Book Publishers)

Honour Books:
Gordon Korman – The Hypnotists (Scholastic Press)
Allan Stratton – Curse Of The Dream Witch (Scholastic Canada)
Pat Bourke – Yesterday’s Dead (Second Story Press)

2014 Silver Birch® Non-Fiction Award Winner

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch – One Step at a Time: A Vietnamese Child Finds Her Way (Pajama Press)

Honour Books:
Andreas Schroeder and Rémy Simard Robbers!: True Stories of the World’s Most Notorious Thieves (Annick Press)
Brian McLachlan Draw Out The Story: Ten Secrets to Creating Your Own Comics (Owlkids Books)
Janet Wilson – Our Rights: How Kids Are Changing the World (Second Story Press)

2014 Red Maple™ Award Winner

Susin Nielsen – the Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen (Tundra Books)

Honour Books:
Kenneth Oppel – Such Wicked Intent (HarperCollins Publishers)
Deborah Ellis – My Name is Parvana (Groundwood Books)
K.L Armstong & M.A Marr – Loki’s Wolves: The Blackwell Pages (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

2014 White Pine™ Fiction Award Winner

Lisa Harrington – Live to Tell (Dancing Cat Books)

Honour Books:
Martine Leavott – My Book of Life By Angel (Groundwood Books)
Courtney Summers – This is Not a Test (St. Martin’s Griffin)
Rachel Hartman – Seraphina (Doubleday Canada)

2014 White Pine™ Non-Fiction Award Winner

Lise Dion and Liedewij Hawke (translator) – The Secret of the Blue Trunk (Dundurn)

Honour Book:
Laura Scandiffio – People Who Said No: Courage Against Oppression (Annick Press)

Le Prix Tamarac 2014

Maryse Peyskens – Une fille à l’école des gars (Dominique et compagnie)

Honour Books:
Catherine Girard-Audet – Aveux de l’autre (pas si grand) méchant loup (Les Éditions Goélette)
Andrée Poulin and Marie-Ève Tremblay – À la découverte de l’Ontario français (Les Éditions L’interligne)

Le Prix Tamarac Express 2014

Raymond Parent – Attention, j’arrive ! (BiBop) (Boomerang)

Honour Books:
Normand Renaud and Lesley St-Amour – Marguerite: la petite sorcière qui n’était pas une bonne méchante (Normand Renaud)
Lili Chartrand and Gabrielle Grimard – Le monde fabuleux de Monsieur Fred (Dominique et compagnie)

Le Prix Peuplier 2014

Céline Malépart – Une mouche, un chat et une patate (Boomerang)

Honour Books:
Alain M. Bergeron and Julie Cossette – Les chasseurs de trésors (FONFON)
Lili Chartrand and Annie Rodrigue – La malédiction des petits pois (Dominique et compagnie)

– 30 –

The Ontario Library Association (OLA) creates programmes, advocacy and promotion for its more than 5,000 members who work in primary and secondary schools, colleges, universities and public libraries across Ontario. The mission of the OLA is to foster free public access to information, and to promote Canada’s history and culture through the programmes and services of the libraries of Ontario.

Since its inception in 1974, IFOA has hosted over 8,500 authors from more than 100 countries, including 21 Nobel Laureates. Our season runs from September to June and includes the annual International Festival of Authors (October 23–November 2, 2014), including YoungIFOA and IFOA Ontario, and the annual ALOUD: a Celebration for Young Readers with Forest of Reading® Festival of Trees™ (May 14–May 15, 2014).

Media Contacts:

Maeve O’Regan: moregan@ifoa.org; 416-973-5836
Meghan Gribben: mgribben@ifoa.org; 416-973-4395