Winners of the 2011 Willow Awards announced

The winners of the 2011 Willow Awards were announced on April 27, 2012 at the SaskEnergy Willow Awards Gala. The event took place at the Heritage Inn (Moose Jaw), hosted by Holy Trinity School Division. The Willow Awards promote reading by granting a Willow Award to the Canadian books voted by students to be the best of those nominated in three categories: Shining Willow (K-3), Diamond Willow (4-6) and Snow Willow (7-9). The winners are listed below.

Shining Willow (Kindergarten – Grade 3)

The King's Taster
The King’s Taster
Written by Kennth Oppel
Illustrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher
Published by HarperCollins Publishers

Diamond Willow (Grades 4-6)

The Midnight Curse
The Midnight Curse
Written by L.M. Falcone
Published by Kids Can Press

Snow Willow (Grades 7-9)

Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom
Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom
Written by Susin Nielsen
Published by Tundra Books

– 30 –

For more information please contact