$10,000 Lane Anderson Award Shortlist Announced

The six finalists competing for the 2011 Lane Anderson Award were announced August 22, 2012 by Hollister Doll and Sharon Fitzhenry, directors of the Fitzhenry Family Foundation. The annual Lane Anderson Award honours two jury-selected books, in the categories of adult and young reader, published in the field of science, and written by a Canadian. The winner in each category will receive a prize of $10,000. Winners will be announced on September 27, 2012. The finalists in the young reader category are listed below.

“The books selected for the shortlist demonstrate the importance of science in today’s world, and connect the topic to the general trade reader in a compelling way” said Doll and Fitzhenry.

2011 Lane Anderson Prize Young Reader Finalists are:

What Does the Earth Sound Like
Written by Eva Everything
ECW Press

From the surprising science behind everyday life to the mysteries on the frontiers of scientific discovery, this quiz book covers many topics. Eva Everything is an award-winning science writer who writes and produces the MindBender Quiz for the Daily Planet.

Totally Human: Why We Look and Act the Way We Do
Written by Cynthia Pratt Nicolson
Illustrated Dianne Eastman
Kids Can Press

The fascinating science behind our bodies and behaviours and how they link us to our ancient ancestors. Cynthia Pratt Nicolson is a teacher and an award-winning children’s author.

Nowhere Else on Earth: Standing Tall for the Great Bear Rainforest
Written by Caitlyn Vernon
Orca Book Publishers

Environmental activist Caitlyn Vernon guides readers through a forest of information, sharing her personal stories, her knowledge, and her concerns. Caitlyn has a background in biology and environmental studies, and is currently a campaigner with Sierra Club BC.

The Lane Anderson designation honours the maiden names of Robert Fitzhenry’s mother, Margaret Lane, and his wife, Hilda Anderson Fitzhenry. The Fitzhenry Family Foundation is a privately directed Canadian foundation established in 1987 by Canadian publisher Robert I. Fitzhenry (1918-2008). The Lane Anderson Award is administered by Christopher Alam, a partner at the law firm of Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP.

For further information, please contact:

Debby de Groot
MDG & Associates
Phone: (416) 363-1448