Writers’ Trust Announces $50,000 Fellowship

The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today a new, three-year program to award $150,000 to Canadian writers in celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary. Intended to free writers substantially from financial concerns and provide a window in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible, the Writers’ Trust Fellowship will annually award one writer $50,000. Three Fellows will be named over three years, concluding in Canada’s sesquicentennial. The inaugural Fellow will be announced at this year’s Writers’ Trust Gala at The Ritz-Carlton in Toronto on November 25.

Created to identify and support the leading Canadian writers of their generation, this unrestricted Fellowship will be awarded to a writer who has demonstrated exceptional creative ability and outstanding promise in their publications to date. It is envisioned that the Fellowship will draw attention to a writer’s past work while stimulating interest in their future endeavours.

The Writers’ Trust Fellow is invited to attend a one-week, self-directed residency at the Leighton Artists’ Colony at The Banff Centre.

“The Writers’ Trust is committed to supporting Canada’s writers throughout their careers, rewarding both individual works and overall promise,” said Mary Osborne, executive director of the Writers’ Trust of Canada. “With the Writers’ Trust Fellowship we are proud to marry that support of Canada’s writers with a celebration of Canada itself, awarding $150,000 to writers in recognition of Canada’s 150th birthday.”

Fellows are selected through a two-tier adjudication process involving recommendations from a panel of Canadian literature experts and a final selection committee. Jurors and the selection committee are guaranteed anonymity. Beginning in 2016, the Writers’ Trust will accept nominations for the Fellowship. Nomination forms will be available at that time.

More information about the Writers’ Trust Fellowship.

About the Writers’ Trust Fellowship

The Fellowship is part of a three-year plan initiated by the Writers’ Trust to award $150,000 to Canadian writers to commemorate Canada’s 150th anniversary. Writers working in the categories of fiction, literary nonfiction, poetry, or literature for young people, and at any stage of their careers, are considered. The Fellowship will be awarded to a writer who has demonstrated exceptional creative ability by producing an outstanding body of literary work and displayed the promise to add to that work. Writers are considered without regard to whether or not they have been or are likely to be recipients of other literary honours or achieve commercial success.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs that includes literary awards, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

For more information and interview opportunities, contact:

Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502