Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award to recognize stellar writing in two categories: adult and young adult. The awards are presented annually to Canadian writers with a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection of speculative fiction published any time during the previous calendar year. Named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb (1926–2009), one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction, the awards consist of a cash award of $1,000 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed "Sunburst" logo. The winners receive their awards in the fall of every year.


Administered By
Sunburst Award Society



Contact Us
The Sunburst Award Society
2 Farm Greenway
Toronto, ON M3A 3M2


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2014 Charles de Lint, The Cats of Tanglewood Forest. Illustrated by Charles Vess. New York: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 2013.
2013 Rachel Hartman, Seraphina. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2012.
2012 Catherine Austen, All Good Children. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2011.
2011 Paul Glennon, Bookweirder. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2010.
2009 Hiromi Goto, Half World. Toronto: Puffin Canada, 2009.
2008 Cory Doctorow, Little Brother. New York: Tor Books, 2008.
2007 Joanne Proulx, Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet. Toronto: Viking Canada, 2007.