Shining Willow Award

The Saskatchewan Young Readers’ Choice Awards – the Willow Awards – are granted annually to the authors of Canadian children’s books voted by students as the best of those nominated in the designated categories. The Shining Willow Award is granted for books suitable for kindergarten to grade 3. In order to be eligible for the award, books must be authored by a Canadian and published in Canada. The winner receives a specially commissioned piece of artwork by a Saskatchewan artist at the annual SaskEnergy Willow Awards Presentation Gala that is held at the end of May or beginning of June.


Administered By
SYRCA - The Willow Awards Inc.



Contact Us
SYRCA - The Willow Awards Inc.
807 Nesslin Court
Saskatoon, SK S7J 4V2
Tel: 306-373-0661


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2014 K’naan, When I Get Older: The Story Behind “Wavin’ Flag”. Illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2012.
2013 Martin Springett, Kate & Pippin: An Unlikely Love Story. Photographs by Isobel Springett. Toronto: Puffin Canada, 2012.
2012 Ashley Spires, Small Saul. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2011.
2011 Kenneth Oppel, The King’s Taster. Illustrated by Steve Johnson and Lou Fancher. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2009.
2010 Mélanie Watt, Scaredy Squirrel at Night. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2009.
2009 Chris Tougas, Mechanimals. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2007.
2008 Mélanie Watt
2007 David Ward, The Hockey Tree. Illustrated by Brian Deines. Toronto: North Winds Press/Scholastic Canada, 2006.
2006 Georgia Graham, A Team Like No Other. Calgary: Red Deer Press, 2004.
2005 Karleen Bradford, You Can’t Rush a Cat. Illustrated by Leslie Elizabeth Watts. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2003.
2004 Linda Bailey, Stanley’s Party. Illustrated by Bill Slavin. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2003.
2003 Hazel Hutchins, TJ and the Cats. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2002.
2002 Lois Simmie, Mister Got to Go and Arnie. Illustrated by Cynthia Nugent. Vancouver: Raincoast Books, 2001.