Rocky Mountain Book Award

The Rocky Mountain Book Award is an Alberta-based readers’ choice program which invites students in grades 4-7 to choose the best book from a shortlist of exemplary Canadian literature. The books submitted must have been published in the last two years in Canada. The winner receives a Gold medal specially designed for the Rocky Mountain Book Award. The winning author is also asked to tour the province of Alberta.


Administered By
Rocky Mountain Book Award



Contact Us
PO Box 42
Lethbridge, AB T1J 3Y3
Tel: 403.381.7164 (Michelle Dimnik) or 403.327.4953 (Ruth McMahon)
Email Rocky Mountain Book Award


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2015 Rona Arato, The Last Train: A Holocaust Story. Toronto: Owlkids Books, 2013.
2014 Jo Rioux, The Golden Twine. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2012.
2013 Ellen Schwartz, The Case of the Missing Deed. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2011.
2012 Susin Nielsen, Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2010.
2011 Seán Cullen, The Prince of Neither Here Nor There. Toronto: Puffin Canada, 2009.
2010 Susin Nielsen, Word Nerd. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2008.
2009 Eric Walters, Safe as Houses. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2007.
2008 Seán Cullen, Hamish X and the Cheese Pirates. Toronto: Puffin Canada/Penguin, 2006.
2007 Pamela Porter, The Crazy Man. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2005.
2006 Kenneth Oppel, Airborn. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2004.
2005 Tim Wynne-Jones, Ned Mouse Breaks Away. Illustrated by Dušan Petri?i?. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2003.
2004 Karen Levine, Hana’s Suitcase. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2002.
2003 Deborah Ellis, The Breadwinner. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2000.
2002 Ting-xing Ye, White Lily. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2000.
2001 Kenneth Oppel, Sunwing. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 1999.