Red Maple Award

The Ontario Library Association’s annual Red Maple Award was first presented in 1998. This award is open to Canadian authors writing at the Grade 7-8 level, who have been published within the last two years. Originally established to honour fiction books, in 2005 the award was expanded to include a non-fiction category which is presented every other year. The winner is selected by Ontario’s young readers. The official sponsor of the Red Maple Award reading program is Tinlids Inc.


Administered By
Ontario Library Association



Contact Us
Ontario Library Association
2 Toronto Street, 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON M5C 2B6


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2015 Fiction Eric Walters, The Rule of Three. Toronto: Razorbill Canada, 2014.
2015 Non-Fiction Rona Arato, The Last Train: A Holocaust Story. Toronto: Owlkids Books, 2013.
2014 Fiction Susin Nielsen, The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2012.
2013 Fiction Wesley King, The Vindico. New York: G.P Putnam's Sons, 2012.
2013 Non-Fiction Bill Swan, Real Justice: Fourteen and Sentenced to Death — The Story of Steven Truscott. Toronto: James Lorimer, 2012.
2012 Fiction Kenneth Oppel, Half Brother. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2010.
2011 Fiction Vicki Grant, Not Suitable for Family Viewing. Toronto: HarperTrophyCanada, 2009.
2011 Non-Fiction Mariatu Kamara with Susan McClelland, The Bite of the Mango. Toronto: Annick Press, 2009.
2010 Fiction Susin Nielsen, Word Nerd. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2008.
2009 Fiction Norah McClintock, Out of the Cold. Toronto: Scholastic Canada, 2007.
2009 Non-Fiction Elizabeth MacLeod, Royal Murder: The Deadly Intrigue of the Ten Sovereigns. Toronto: Annick Press, 2008.
2008 Fiction Eric Walters, Safe as Houses. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2007.
2007 Fiction Eric Walters, We All Fall Down. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2006.
2007 Non-fiction Andreas Schroeder, Thieves! Toronto: Annick Press, 2005.
2006 Fiction Kenneth Oppel, Skybreaker. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2005.
2005 Fiction Kenneth Oppel, Airborn. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2004.
2005 Non-fiction Andrea Schroeder, Scams! Ten Stories that Explore Some of the Most Outrageous Swindlers and Tricksters of All Time.
2004 Non-fiction Lyn Thomas, Ha! Ha! Ha! 1000+ Jokes, Riddles, Facts, and More. Toronto: Maple Tree Press/Owl Books, 2001.
2004 Norah McClintock, Hit and Run. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2003.
2003 Gayle Friesen, Losing Forever. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2002.
2002 Kathy Kacer, Clara’s War. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2001.
2001 Eric Walters, Rebound. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 2000.
2000 Anita Horrocks, What They Don't Know. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 1998.
1999 Gayle Friesen, Janey's Girl. Toronto: Kids Can Press,1998.
1998 Carol Matas, After the War. Richmond Hill, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1996.