Newfoundland and Labrador Book Awards

These awards are administered by the Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador. The awards alternate on a bi-yearly basis, with children’s literature being one of the categories. The name of the award changes from year to year depending on who sponsors the award. The author must have been a resident of Newfoundland and Labrador for at least three of the previous five years and the submitted book(s) must be been published within the two calendar years prior to submission. The books must be single authored and 4 non-returnable copies must be sent along with a letter stating eligibility. Deadline for submissions is December 15th (biennially) of the award year. The prize for this award is $1,000 and gold stickers that are to be placed on the cover of the winning book. The recipient of this award will also be presented with a leather bound copy of their book.


Administered By
Writers' Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador



Contact Us
Haymarket Square
202-223 Duckworth Street
St. John's, NL, A1C 6N1
Tel: (709) 739-5215
Toll free: 1 (866) 739-5215
Fax: (709) 739-5931


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2014 Bruneau Family Children’s/YA Award Andy Jones
2012 Bruneau Family Children's/YA Award Andy Jones, Jack and the Manger. Illustrated by Darka Erdelji. St. John’s: Running the Goat Books & Broadsides, 2010.
2010 Bruneau Family Children’s/YA Award Tom Dawe
2008 Bruneau Family Children's/YA Award Janet McNaughton, The Raintree Rebellion. Toronto: HarperTrophyCanada, 2006.
2006 Bruneau Family Children’s/YA Award Janet McNaughton, Brave Jack and the Unicorn. Illustrated by Susan Tooke. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2005.
2004 Bruneau Family Children’s/YA Award Janet McNaughton, An Earthly Knight. Toronto: HarperTrophy Canada, 2003.
2002 Bruneau Family Children’s/YA Award Janet McNaughton, The Secret Under My Skin. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2000.
2000 NewTel Children’s/YA Book Award Janet McNaughton, Make or Break Spring. St. John’s: Tuckamore Books, 1998.
1998 Hibernia Children's/YA Book Award Joan Clark, The Dream Carvers. Toronto: Viking Press, 1995.