National Chapter of Canada IODE Violet Downey Book Award

Established in 1985, this annual award of $3,000 is given to the best English-language book published in the previous calendar year by a Canadian and published in Canada. The work must contain at least 500 words of text, be suitable for children aged 13 and under and may be in any category, with the exception of fairy tales, anthologies and adaptations. The winner will be chosen by a six-member panel of judges, which includes two recognized specialists in the field of children’s literature. The award may be divided between two people.


Administered By
IODE Violet Downey Book Award



Contact Us
c/o National Chapter of Canada IODE
Suite 219, 40 Orchard View Blvd.
Toronto, ON M4R 1B9
Tel: 416.487.4416
Fax: 416.487.4417


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2005 Anne Dublin, Bobbie Rosenfeld: The Olympian Who Could Do Everything. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2004
1991 Barbara Smucker, Incredible Jumbo. Markham, ON: Viking, 1990.
2002 Brian Doyle, Mary Ann Alice. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2001.
2009 Budge Wilson, Before Green Gables. Toronto: Penguin Canada, 2008.
1998 Celia Barker Lottridge, Wings to Fly. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1997.
2015 Charis Cotter, The Swallow: A Ghost Story. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2014.
1988 Donn Kushner, A Book Dragon. Toronto: Macmillan of Canada, 1987.
2007 Eric Walters, Shattered. Toronto: Viking Canada, 2006.
1999 Gayle Friesen, Janey's Girl. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1998.
1987 Janet Lunn, Shadow in Hawthorn Bay. Toronto: Lester & Orpen Dennys, 1986.
1997 Janet McNaughton, To Dance at the Palais Royale. St. John’s: Tuckamore Books, 1996.
2012 Janet McNaughton, The Dragon Seer’s Gift. Toronto: HarperCollins Publishers, 2011.
1996 Jean Little, His Banner Over Me. Toronto: Penguin Books Canada, 1995.
1993 Julie Johnston, Hero of Lesser Causes. Toronto: Lester Publishing, 1992.
2003 Karen Levine, Hana’s Suitcase. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2002.
2000 Katherine Holubitsky, Alone at Ninety Foot. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 1999.
1994 Kit Pearson, The Lights Go On Again. Toronto: Viking Kestrel, 1993.
1986 Marianne Brandis, The Quarter Pie Window. Erin, ON: The Porcupine's Quill, 1985.
1985 Mary Ellen Lang-Collura, Winners. Saskatoon: Western Producer Prairie Books, 1984.
1991 Michael Bedard, Redwork. Toronto: Lester & Orpen Dennys, 1990.
2013 Michael Bedard, The Green Man. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2012.
1990 Paul Yee, Tales From Gold Mountain. Illustrated by Simon Ng. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1989.
2006 Rachna Gilmore, The Sower of Tales. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2005.
2014 S.J. Laidlaw, An Infidel in Paradise. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2013.
1995 Sarah Ellis, Out of the Blue. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1994.
2004 Sarah Ellis, The Several Lives of Orphan Jack. Illustrations by Bruno St-Aubin. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2003.
2010 Shane Peacock, Vanishing Girl: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Third Case. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2009.
2001 Sharon McKay, Charlie Wilcox. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, 2000.
1992 Sheryl McFarlane, Waiting for the Whales. Illustrated by Ron Lightburn. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 1991.
2011 Virginia Frances Schwartz, Crossing to Freedom. Toronto: Scholastic Canada, 2010.