Golden Oak Award

The Golden Oak Adult Literacy Book Club Award is sponsored by the Ontario Library Association. Golden Oak provides a unique opportunity for new readers in adult literacy programs to read books chosen specifically for them. They can read the books by themselves, with their tutors, or as part of a reading group. New adult readers are encouraged to read one, two, or all of the books and share their thoughts about them in an online discussion. The official sponsor of the Golden Oak Award reading program is Tinlids Inc.


Administered By
Ontario Library Association



Contact Us
Ontario Library Association
2 Toronto Street, 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON M5C 2B6


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2003 Karen Levine, Hana’s Suitcase. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2002.
2004 Deborah Ellis, Parvana’s Journey. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2002.
2005 Richardo Keens-Douglas, Tales from the Isle of Spice: A Collection of New Caribbean Folk Tales. Toronto: Annick Press, 2004.
2006 Deborah Ellis, The Heaven Shop. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2005.
2007 Pamela Porter, The Crazy Man. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2005
2008 Deborah Ellis, I Am a Taxi. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2006.
2009 Alma Fullerton, Libertad. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2008.
2010 Katie Smith Milway, One Hen: How One Small Loan Made a Big Difference. Illustrated by Eugenie Fernandes. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 2008.
2011 Rona Arato, Courage and Compassion: Ten Canadians Who Made a Difference. Toronto: Maple Tree Press, 2008.
2012 Cindy Watson, Out of Darkness: The Jeff Healey Story. Toronto: Dundurn Press, 2010.
2014 Jennifer Lanthier, The Stamp Collector. Illustrated by François Thisdale. Markham, ON: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2012.
2015 Rosemary McCarney with Plan International, Every Day is Malala Day. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2014.