Arthur Ellis Best Juvenile Crime Award

Established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada's official hangman, the Arthur Ellis Awards are awarded annually by the Crime Writers of Canada. Crime Writers of Canada is Canada's national professional association of published authors of crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense and thriller fiction - both novels and short stories, true crime and genre. The book must be published within the preceding year by a Canadian resident, regardless of nationality, or a Canadian writer living abroad. In 1993, a category for best juvenile mystery was included.


Administered By
Crime Writers of Canada



Contact Us
3007 Kingston Road PO Box 113 Toronto, ON M1M 1P1 Tel: 416.466.9826 or 416.461.9876 Fax: 416.461.4489


Awards Recipients

Year Detail Recipient
2015 Sigmund Brouwer, Dead Man’s Switch. Eugene, OR: Harvest House Publishers, 2014.
2014 Elizabeth MacLeod, Bones Never Lie: How Forensics Helps Solve History’s Mysteries. Toronto: Annick Press, 2013.
2013 Shane Peacock, Becoming Holmes: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His Final Case. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2012.
2012 Tim Wynne-Jones, Blink & Caution. Somerville, MA: Candlewick Press, 2011.
2011 Alice Kuipers, The Worst Thing She Ever Did. Toronto: HarperTrophyCanada, 2010.
2010 Barbara Haworth-Attard, Haunted. Toronto: HarperTrophyCanada, 2009.
2009 Sharon E. McKay, War Brothers. Toronto: Puffin Canada, 2008.
2008 Shane Peacock, Eye of the Crow: The Boy Sherlock Holmes, His First Case. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2007.
2007 Seán Cullen, Hamish X and the Cheese Pirates. Toronto: Penguin Group (Canada), 2006.
2006 Vicki Grant, Quid Pro Quo. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2005.
2005 Carrie Mac, The Beckoners. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2004.
2004 Graham McNamee, Acceleration. New York: Random House Children’s Books, 2003.
2003 Norah McClintock, Break and Enter. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2002.
2002 Norah McClintock, Scared to Death. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 2001.
2001 Tim Wynne-Jones, The Boy in the Burning House. Toronto: Groundwood/Douglas & McIntyre, 2000.
2000 Linda Bailey, How Can a Brilliant Detective Shine in the Dark? Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1999.
1999 Norah McClintock, Sins of the Father. Markham, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1998.
1998 Norah McClintock, The Body in the Basement. Richmond Hill, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1997.
1997 Linda Bailey, How Can A Frozen Detective Stay Hot On The Trail? Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1996.
1996 Norah McClintock, Mistaken Identity. Richmond Hill, ON: Scholastic Canada, 1995.
1995 James Heneghan, Torn Away. Toronto: Viking, 1994.
1994 John Dowd, Abalone Summer. Vancouver: Raincoast Books, 1993.